The Elysian Prophecy

Author: Vivien Reis

Series: Deian Chronicles (Book 1)
Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Copper Hound Press; I edition (February 20, 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0998876410
ISBN-13: 9780998876412

An enchanted island. An evil resurrected. A society determined to gain power…

When a violent attack leaves their father in the hospital, Abigail and Benjamin Cole discover there’s more to their family history than mental illness.

But after fifteen-year-old Abi is abducted, she learns the attack wasn’t random. Thrust into an exotic and beautiful world part of a multi-millennial feud, she must decide who to trust in a society built on secrets. Questioning everything she’s ever known, she enlists the help of a boy connected to her in impossible ways and uncovers a dangerous secret stretching generations.

Seventeen-year-old Ben desperately tries to search for both his sister and his mother, but his hold on reality is fading. Something dark has latched onto him. In a race against his own failing mind, where violent hallucinations and paranoia force him to believe he’s next in line for the family curse, he learns he’s the only one that can save his family.

When darkness is coming, who do you trust?

Magic. Deceit. War. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, and Leigh Bardugo.

What I thought: One of the major themes of this book is family. I come from a huge family (I am one of six kids) and anything that delves into sibling relationships always piques my interest. I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading it, but Vivien doesn’t lie when she says this book is for fans of Cassandra Clare. I love Clare’s The Mortal Instrument series and I found this book had the same spirit: young heroine, family secrets, family history, magical beings living under the radar of everyday life – it’s got it.

The Quote: Your first lesson will be controlling your thoughts. We do not use broomsticks

Why I chose it: This quote made me laugh. It reminded me of what I love to see in stories – humor. A lot of YA novels contain…well…young adults. They can be funny – especially when they don’t mean to be. That’s probably the old woman in me talking, but there is much to be said about a character with a bit of sass – especially when they can also be humourous.

About the Author:

14900742


Vivien Reis grew up all over the world and started out as most writers do–voraciously reading every book she could get her hands on, and writing as soon as she could wield a pencil.

Nowadays she’s a mechanical engineer by day and a writer by night, doing her best to help other aspiring novelists reach their full potential through her website and YouTube channel.

She started writing her debut novel, The Elysian Prophecy, during a Camp NaNoWriMo event in July 2015. The YA dark fantasy will be available for purchase in Spring 2017. Feel free to join her newsletter to be among the first to hear of any Elysian news!

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s